Hiking Humpback

On Saturday, I went on a hike at Humpback Rock. The weather that day was about 63 degrees Fahrenheit and overcast. Upon beginning our treck up the mountain, I was chilly so wore a sweatshirt with my shorts and t-shirt. As the hike began, my body temperature increased rapidly. Eventually, my sweatshirt needed to be removed. Physical exertion plays a big role in increase in body temperature and effects our perception of what the outside temperature is like. When I got to

the top of the mountain I was rewarded with a great view. My perception of the temperature changed again. Because I had stopped moving at such a rapid and strenuous pace, I felt much colder than I had before.  The sweatshirt went back on and we made our way back down the mountain. At the bottom, I became very cold because there was no longer trees to block the wind which had picked up as time had past. My hiking trip made me think a lot about how nice it is to go out an enjoy the world around you every once and a while. It was a great adventure!

This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment